Kumano Sanzan - The Three Grand Shrines of the Kumano Faith

The Kumano Sanzan are the three Grand Shrines of the ancient Kumano faith in Wakayama. The shrines are Kumano Nachi Taisha, Kumano Hayatama Taisha and Kumano Hongu Taisha. The associated pilgrimage is known as Kumano Kodo.

Kumano Kodo Magose Toge Mount Tengura

View from the top of Mount Tengura near the Kumano Kodo Magose Toge pass.

The Kumano Sanzan shrines and the pilgrimage routes connecting them to each other, Yoshino and Koyasan have been designated a world heritage site.

Kumano Hongu Taisha

Kumano Hongu Taisha.

As described in the "Fireflies" chapter of The Tale of Genji: "Murasaki too had become addicted to romances. Her excuse was that Genji's little daughter insisted on being read to. 'Just see what a fine one this is,' she said, showing Genji an illustration for The Tale of Kumano."

Kumano-nachi Taisha Grand Shrine Daimonzaka Path

Kumano-Nachi Taisha Grand Shrine Daimonzaka path.

Kumano-nachi Taisha Grand Shrine Haiden

Kumano-Nachi Taisha Grand Shrine Haiden.

Kumano-nachi Taisha Grand Shrine Momiji

Autumn foliage at Kumano-Nachi Taisha Grand Shrine.

Kumano Hongu Taisha Grand Shrine Oyunohara

Oyunohara - original site of Kumano Hongu Taisha Grand Shrine.

Kumano Hayatama Taisha Grand Shrine lanterns

Shrine maiden at Kumano Hayatama Taisha Grand Shrine.